Remarkable video of a flood in the Harod Valley, Israel

Israel is having its heaviest winter rains in 30 years. The good news is the rising water levels in the Sea of Galilee, the country’s principal reservoir. The bad news is the flooding that can come with heavy rainfall.

Check out this video posted by Aren Maeir on the Tel es-Safi/Gath blog. It’s a scene from the Harod Valley, near the battlefield of Gideon and his 300 men.

To quote Aren, “Watch this till the end. It’s quite astounding!”

I find some Bible passages to be more vivid when reading them with this video in mind.

[In Deborah’s song…] From heaven the stars fought, from their courses they fought against Sisera. The torrent Kishon swept them away, the ancient torrent, the torrent Kishon. (Judges 5:20-21 ESV)

David came to Baal-perazim, and David defeated [the Philistines] there. And he said, “The LORD has broken through my enemies before me like a breaking flood.” Therefore the name of that place is called Baal-perazim [“lord of bursting through”]. (2 Samuel 5:20)

Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck.
I sink in deep mire, where there is no foothold; I have come into deep waters, and the flood sweeps over me. (Psalm 69:1-2)

Deliver me from sinking in the mire; let me be delivered from my enemies and from the deep waters.
Let not the flood sweep over me, or the deep swallow me up, or the pit close its mouth over me. (v. 14-15)

HT: Ferrell Jenkins

About LukeChandler

Luke holds an M.A. in Ancient and Classical History and has been an adjunct professor at Florida College in Temple Terrace, Florida. Luke and his wife Melanie have five children. He serves as a minister in English and Spanish with the North Terrace Church of Christ and participates annually in archaeological excavations in Israel. Luke also leads tours to Europe and the Bible Lands.
Video | This entry was posted in Bible comments, Israel, Short videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remarkable video of a flood in the Harod Valley, Israel

  1. Pingback: Flash Flooding in the Valley of Harod | Exploring Bible Lands

Leave a Reply

